CU benefactors honored for exceptional philanthropy

Four of the University of Colorado’s distinguished and committed philanthropic leaders received honors from the Colorado Chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals, which celebrated National Philanthropy Day with an awards lunch in Denver on November 10, 2016.

CU President Bruce and Marcy Benson were named the joint winners of Outstanding Philanthropist for 2016, presented to an individual who has a record of exceptional personal generosity that demonstrates outstanding civic or charitable responsibility and whose leadership has encouraged others in philanthropic roles. Not only have the Bensons impacted the University of Colorado through their 8-year leadership roles, but they are influential philanthropists in the Denver community including support for the Denver Zoo, Denver Public Schools and more.

Sue Anschutz-Rodgers, a generous contributor to the CU School of Medicine at the Anschutz Medical Campus, received Lifetime Achievement honors. As an ardent supporter of the CU Eye Center, Ms. Anschutz-Rodgers has left an indelible mark on the CU Anschutz Medical Campus by fueling the innovative research efforts of Dr. Naresh Mandava and his team.

The Anschutz Foundation was presented the Outstanding Foundation Award for playing a key role in the creation of the CU Anschutz Medical Campus and supporting many other nonprofits in Colorado. At CU, support for a wide range of programs and initiatives – from the Anschutz Health and Wellness Center to the National Behavioral Health Innovation Center to the University of Colorado Cancer Pavilions – has fueled the growth of the campus as a top-tier medical destination.

The award for Outstanding Professional Grantmaker went to John H. “Jack” Alexander, Jr. of the Helen K. and Arthur E. Johnson Foundation. His advocacy was instrumental to the foundation board’s decisions to make historic gifts to CU, naming the Helen and Arthur E. Johnson Depression Center at the CU Anschutz Medical Campus and the Helen and Arthur E. Johnson Beth-El College of Nursing and Health Sciences at the University of Colorado Colorado Springs.

These awards are a fitting way for the Colorado community to recognize the generosity and impact of some of its philanthropic leaders – leaders who are among the thousands of individuals and organizations that support the University of Colorado each year. The AFP Colorado Chapter began in the 1970s as the Colorado Association of Fund Raisers. Now with 300 members, the chapter presents educational luncheons, informal Coffee Chats, the annual Rocky Mountain Philanthropy Institute, and National Philanthropy Day.

“Philanthropy shows the love of humankind,” said Cory Andersen, who chaired the Nov. 10 luncheon at the Denver Performing Arts Complex. “We are blessed to have so many people in Colorado that give their time, talent and treasure to make a difference and create impact in their communities.”

Click here for this year’s full list of honorees.

Dec, 07 2016